Dropbox Rotation Program [Guest Blog Post]

Standard

By: Kaity Wegen
Dropbox Rotation Program
2014 TCU graduate

Dropbox began when our CEO Drew Houston forgot his USB thumb drive during a long bus ride when he was planning on using it to access his work. Frustrated, he decided that problem shouldn’t have to happen again. Ever since then, Dropbox has grown tremendously, and what I believe today best answers the question, “What business is Dropbox in?” Well, we’re in the business of saving people time, and we believe time is a very valuable thing.

Even though Dropbox is moving away from the “start-up” classification into “high growth” the entrepreneurial roots of this company run deep. Everything is changing so quickly, and as Dropbox’s products like Mailbox, Carousel, and the upcoming Project Harmony take off, it’s a thrilling time to be here.

In the short month I’ve been at Dropbox I couldn’t be happier. To say I was welcomed with open arms as a new-hire is an understatement. There are 39 new grads in the Dropbox Rotation Program, and I feel I can speak for us all when I say that we have felt so valued, respected, trusted, and empowered by the other Dropboxers from day one. Throughout the next 18 months my class and I will have 3 different rotations throughout the company. Gaining this strong foundational knowledge of Dropbox will not only benefit me in any future role at the company, but it also provides me the opportunity as a new grad to further develop my skills, learn areas of strength/weakness, and perhaps even discover I’m really interested in an area of Dropbox I would have otherwise not considered (because in all reality, I still don’t actually know what I want to do!).

My first rotation in DRP is in User Operations. My marketing background has been instrumental in this role because I connect with our users every single day. User Operations can be like investigative work. We’re not only providing user support, but we also work alongside engineering to make our products even better. It’s really exciting delving into an area I knew very little about before, and quickly becoming an “expert” on a specific user facing issue. Perhaps what I enjoy most about working and learning with my team and the other DRPs is how naturally curious everyone is. No one is satisfied with learning/doing the minimum. Continuous improvement, always acting with humility, asking hard questions of ourselves and others (even when that means laughing off a mistake and continuing forward), and celebrating your colleague’s successes are the main characteristics of Dropboxers that make them incredible people to work alongside.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

DRP does more than acknowledge that this is still a time for learning and development as new grads (we do partake in a Learning & Development curriculum in addition to our rotations), thus we are actively encouraged to challenge ourselves. I am learning so much each day it can feel overwhelming, but learning along with my cohort provides the best support system there is. I believe I’ve taken so strongly to my DRP family because it has many similarities to that of the Neeley Fellows Program. Just as I was invested in the success of my fellow Fellows, the Head of DRP spoke to this same idea on our first day – we’re not going to succeed through competing with one another. We are committed to each other’s and the company’s good. We’re truly a family here at Dropbox. There’s not a single person in the company I would be uncomfortable reaching out to. I can’t say enough about the caliber of people here. I’m truly honored to get to learn from and work with every one of them.

Just as families work hard, we also play hard. I wouldn’t be sharing the whole story if I didn’t talk about the crazy fun I have been having at Dropbox. Yes, there are scooters and rip sticks to get you around the office if you’re in a hurry. There’s one conference room full of Lego blocks that I really love. Our office is a mere step away from AT&T Park and I am quickly becoming a San Francisco Giants fan (and once we heard Beyonce doing her sound check, and it was awesome). Daily I am eating the most incredible food I’ve had in my life (check out: here and here), and I sit right next to the game room (which actually isn’t as distracting as you’d think it would be, as I’m not very good at pool or ping pong, but the DDR machine, that’s my thing). Lastly, living in San Francisco is incredible. After all of the cities I have lived in, visited, or even heard of, I feel that I’ve found the perfect combination of every place I love here in the bay. Exploring SF with the other DRPs has been a highlight of my time here.

“Technology is nothing. What’s important is that you have a faith in people, that they’re basically good and smart, and if you give them tools, they’ll do wonderful things with them.” Steve Jobs

I’ve been passionate about technology ever since my 10-year-old self decided Steve Jobs was my hero. I think this quote resonates well with Dropbox. Beyond having faith in the Dropboxers to build wonderful technology for our current and future users, we have faith in anyone who has access to a computer or mobile device and has important stuff they want to save, share, and access. I could go on forever about Dropbox and DRP, but if this sparks your interest, you should check it out for yourself: Life Inside Dropbox and Dropbox Rotation Program.

*And for those of you who are looking for an internship look and learn more here: Dropbox Engineering Internship Program and here: Dropbox Internships.

Click here for a DRP Video.

We anticipate the posting for the Dropbox Rotation Program to be up on FrogJobs in the next couple of weeks.

 

Leave a Reply

